The ICIN 2018 Congress Committee are very excited to announce the following keynote speakers.

Linda Aiken

Linda H. Aiken, PhD, FAAN, FRCN is the Claire Fagin Leadership Professor of Nursing, Professor of Sociology, and Director of Center for Health Outcomes and Policy Research, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing. Dr. Aiken conducts research on the use of performance measures to demonstrate relationships between nursing and patient outcomes in over 30 countries. She is the author of more than 300 scientific papers, and has received the top research awards in nursing and health services and policy research. She was inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Inaugural International Researcher Hall of Fame and is an Episteme Laureate.  She was awarded the Reimann Prize by the International Council of Nurses in Barcelona in 2017 for her global contributions to nursing. She is an elected member of the U.S. National Academy of Medicine, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a former President of the American Academy of Nursing, and an Honorary Member of the Royal College of Nursing.

Claire Rickard

Professor Claire Rickard RN PhD from Griffith University, together with friends, founded the Alliance for Vascular Access Teaching and Research (AVATAR Group), a leading research group in its field. She was also a key instigator of the first Australian National Health and Medical Research Council Centre for Research Excellence in Nursing and is affiliated with the Lady Cilento Children’s, Royal Brisbane and Women’s, Prince Charles, and Princess Alexandra Hospitals, as well as the University of Manchester in the UK.

Dr Rickard’s research articles appear regularly in the scientific literature. Her trial in The Lancet saw a global changes from time-based to clinical-based removal of peripheral intravenous catheters. Her work on tissue adhesive and other dressings and securements for IV devices is showing dramatic opportunities for improvement in this field also.

A Mum of two, Dr Rickard has been inducted into the prestigious Sigma Theta Tau International (or STTI) International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame, and is one of only 2 nurses elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.

Leanne Aitken

Professor Leanne Aitken is Professor of Nursing at City University London. In this role she is responsible for leading research and scholarship in acute and critical care nursing as well as implementing her own programme of research that focuses on recovery after critical illness and injury and a range of clinical practice issues within critical care. Other responsibilities include teaching and supervision of research students.

Professor Aitken holds visiting appointments with Griffith University and Princess Alexandra Hospital, as well as the University of Edinburgh and the University of Dundee in the UK. She is a Fellow of both the American Academy of Nursing and the Australian College of Nursing as well as a Life Member and Fellow of the Australian College of Critical Care Nurses. She is also a Fulbright Alumnus after receiving a Fulbright Senior Scholarship to undertake research examining recovery after trauma at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.

Professor Aitken has published more than 100 original publications in peer reviewed journals and edits ACCCN’s Critical Care Nursing textbook.

Amy Wallace

Amy Wallace is a Registered Nurse who has worked in the mental health field for 13years. She holds a post-graduate in psychiatric nursing and a Graduate Certificate in Nursing and Leadership Management. Amy undertook her Nursing training in Victoria before making the move to WA 10years ago. Amy’s current role is centred on improving the physical Health of Mental Health Patients within Graylands Hospital and the Wider North Metropolitan Health Service Mental Health. Amy conduct’s many concurrent quality improvement projects looking at innovative and alternative ways to improve how her service functions in this space. Amy was awarded the prestigious WA Nurse of the Year in 2017 for the work she is doing in her role, the first mental health nurse to be given this honour. Amy was also one of 3 finalists for the mental health employee excellence awards in 2017.